Rumors and Karma

I’m not going to lie, I love hearing juicy gossip as much as anyone else. It adds excitement to my pretty boring life.

However, it hurts being gossiped about (note to self: no &$%#, Sherlock :P).

In high school I was the target of many rumors, gossip and snide comments due to my abusive friends. My peers would say things such as

Is she pregnant?” (There was NO CHANCE I was pregnant)

“I heard she goes and smokes weed/crack/meth after school and gets drunk.” (I don’t drink or do drugs/smoke!)

And my personal favorite:

“I heard you did inappropriate things with [my abuser] inside of a classroom.” (No, I was actually STUDYING in the classroom!)

I would go home crying at least once a week because I was devastated that people could say such a thing about me!

It took me 7 years (middle school-high school) to realize that every time I gossip about someone, someone WILL spread hurtful things about me.That’s just the way the universe works.

Every time I gossip, someone’s heart breaks.

Every rumor I spread is another tear on my cheek.

I still gossip. I’m getting better at censoring myself.

Before I say something about another person, I ask: Would I want someone to say this about me? Would I regret telling another person this?

If the answer is no, than I had better keep my mouth shut.

 

-A

About darkbutlife

A blogger who strives to become a better version of herself each day.
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.