Selfishness

….is sometimes more important than selflessness.
I sacrifice my own well-being for others.

For example: I would rather avenge the abuse of my friends than my own abuse.
I would give up my shoes if my friend needed them-even if they had perfectly good shoes.
I would gladly go without a meal if it meant my starving friend could eat.
Lame examples, yes, but the point of the matter is that I sacrifice my own happiness so that others can be happy.

Needless to say, I’m depressed most of the time.

My mother always told me to not be selfish.
“Selfishness,” she mused, “is the root of all evil.”

Yeah, well, look where selflessness has gotten me!

I need to focus on myself. If you’re going through hardships due to elaborate selflessness, it’s perfectly fine to be a little selfish.
It’ll help you focus on what’s really important: your safety and well being.

A

About darkbutlife

A blogger who strives to become a better version of herself each day.
This entry was posted in Motivation, Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.