Is anger normal?

One by one, the books are released from their shelf…
A domino effect.
The beige pages flutter and whisper words of warning as they fly through the air.
The sound of wood hitting cement is inevitable.
Wait for it….
thud.
Like a hailstorm hitting green grass,
so the books hit the floor of the library,
One by one.

This was a poem I wrote while blinded with anger. It took an insane amount of strength to not reenact the events in the poem.
I wanted to scream and destroy everything in front of me (I happened to be in a library at the time this was written; hence, the books falling).
I kept my cool.

My question is….is it alright to be so angry you can’t see straight?
Yes. But there are exceptions.
In your anger, another living being must not be harmed. That is the line between anger and violent insanity.
Sometimes I get so wound up that I want to hurt someone…but I know that in the end I’ll end up hurting myself as well.

If you’re going through a tough time, know that it’s perfectly normal to feel upset or angry. Just don’t make any decisions you’ll regret.

-A

About darkbutlife

A blogger who strives to become a better version of herself each day.
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.