Crying or Feeling Depressed For No Reason

Crying or feeling depressed for no reason can really put a damper on an otherwise perfect day.

When I’m randomly upset, I don’t want help. I want to feel helpless (I don’t understand it either). A part of me tries to rationalize what I’m experiencing to calm myself down, but some dramatic voice in my head tells me “NO! I just want to wallow in self-pity!”

It’s really annoying.

Why does this happen? I’m not a professional, so I can’t say for certain.
For me, certain memories trigger depression or crying spells for awhile. Usually, I have to talk to a trusted individual to “snap myself out of it”.

If you’re willing to accept help during these random crying spells or fits of depression (unlike poor, pitiful me) here are some things you can do:
1. Smile, even if it’s the last thing you want to do. It gives you a short (but necessary) mood boost.
2. Laugh! It has the same effect that smiling does, but it can last longer.
3. Read something that makes you happy. This can help redirect your thoughts to something more positive.
4. Talk it out. Sometimes, you just need to vent.

When you finally snap out of it, don’t beat yourself up for being depressed. Just accept it as a normal part of being human and continue on with your day.

-A

About darkbutlife

A blogger who strives to become a better version of herself each day.
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.